Why I Think the Decade of My Birth is Superior to Everyone Else’s, Just like Everyone Else Does

Every year, my department has an ornament contest.  I say “every year” but really this is my first year, so what do I know?  What I do know is this: the newbies get stuck orchestrating the thing.

So this year, the theme we picked is: The Decade You Were Born In.

I was born in the 80’s, barely.  As in: I was alive for just over three months of the eighties.  Just long enough to say I was alive when the Berlin Wall was still up, even though I pretty much didn’t know what the Berlin Wall was until the next millennium.

For the record, unless you are born at the very beginning of a decade, the decade you are most fond of is actually the following decade.  So when my sister, who was born less than a year into her decade, texted me, “Celebration of finishing finals means blasting backstreet boys and playing N64.  Children of the 90’s unite!” all I could think about was how I really, really miss Harvest Moon 64.

Anyway, what I know about the 80’s is that Care Bears came about in the 80’s, and sort of almost made it into the 90’s that I at least had a Care Bear when I was very little.  It was pink.  It may or may not have had a rainbow on its stomach, and that may or may not have anything to do with my being gay.  Actually, I think it had hearts, but that’s still pretty questionable.
The glue gun was invented in the 40’s, in case you were wondering.  It might have my vote for best invention ever, since it allows you to create stuff like this:

My Ornament.  Envision them sledding down a hill of clouds.  This was almost a reality.  I had to hide the cotton balls from myself.

My ornament

Envision them sledding down a hill of clouds.  That was almost a reality.  I had to hide the cotton balls from myself.

One thought on “Why I Think the Decade of My Birth is Superior to Everyone Else’s, Just like Everyone Else Does

  1. Pingback: Why Online Shopping is Too Convenient « Antelop

Leave a Reply

