How to Live Your Dreams

I still haven’t figured out what I want to be when I grow up.  I have, however, stopped saying “if I grow up,” because this whole growing up thing feels pretty inevitable — no matter how much I protest, it’s happening.

 

This is concerning because I’m starting school again, for my MLIS.  (That’s a library degree you guys.  And based on my first two assignments alone, I am willing to bet you have no idea – like I had no idea a few days ago – how totally complicated libraries and the realm of information are.)  I love school.  I’m pretty dang sure I want this degree.  …I haven’t exactly figured out what I want to do with it, though.  I need a specialty, an area of concentration, and then a plan based on that.  And likely, to wait for somebody to die for a job to open up.

 

Here are some things I know I do want:

  • a cat in June.  That is so happening.
  • to stay in Minnesota for the foreseeable future
  • to continue to write a superior blog to my sister’s
  • my siblings to see their dreams realized

 

I have no idea what this last point means for Eric, but for Megan, it should be very entertaining.

 

For a very long time, Megan wanted to be a dalmatian when she grew up.

For a very long time, Megan wanted to be a dalmatian when she grew up.

One thought on “How to Live Your Dreams

  1. You need to be a librarian in a school. Preferably an elementary school. Because kids are your jam. And it would totally make you happy to see them all day. Especially when you aren’t baby-sitting.

    PS interestingly, I’m preparing to tell a story to kindergarteners tomorrow where we all get to bark like dogs a bunch. My dreams are coming true.

Leave a Reply

