Why We Don’t Need to Genetically Modify Anything

Karl, in the cube across from me, has a Jeopardy day-by-day calendar, and this week, the questions (answers) have all been in the category of cereal mascots.  Today, the question was basically: What type of bird is Sonny from Cocoa Puffs?

I got it right.  The answer (question) is cuckoo bird.  However, I was somewhat confused, because I wasn’t sure that a cuckoo bird was a real thing.  I mean, a cuckoo clock is a real thing.  But I’m pretty certain that the only cuckoo bird I’ve ever see is Sonny, in all his cartoon glory.

So I googled it.

Turns out, a cuckoo bird is a real thing.

Sonny’s real life cousin

And it looks like a chicken mated with a finch.

 

 

Leave a Reply

