How I Know I am a Minion

Even though it makes no sense to me, I am part of the young nerd elite.  Meaning I work in the realm of computing, and this intimidates other folks enough that I am paid pretty well.

 

The reason I find this confusing is that I am at the bottom of the totem pole.  I don’t mean to sell myself short, but there are plenty of things I do that most anybody could do with about 30 minutes of instruction and no degree of any kind.

 

I may as well be one of these minions (from Despicable Me). Luckily, some people think I am just as adorable. (On the other hand, some people think I am just as annoying.)

 

For example:

 

This week, on one of the larger projects I’m on, we were load testing.  For those outside of the nerd elite, this means taking our pretty computer-y system and throwing a whole ton of pretend computer-y users in there to see if we can stress it out, or, better yet, break it.

 

I had to monitor the logs.  The logs are the computer’s journals, except computers journal very quickly and often about things nobody really cares about.  So logs basically look like a more technical form of this:

It is Tuesday.  2:34 pm.  It is raining.

It is Tuesday.  2:34 pm.  It is raining.

It is Tuesday.  2:34 pm.  It is raining.

It is Tuesday.  2:34 pm.  It is raining.

WARNING: It is Tuesday.  2:34 pm.  It might be raining.

It is Tuesday.  2:34 pm.  It is raining.

 

On Thursday of this week, one particular error message suddenly started showing up a TON.  I obeyed the monkey rules under which I operate and made the non-monkey folks aware.  At which point they researched the error, said it doesn’t matter and that I should ignore it.

 

That’s cool and all, except the error was literally showing up about 2000 times a minute.

 

Turns out I get paid a very respectable amount to scroll really fast.

 

 

Leave a Reply

