Raised on Red Ribbon Week

Yesterday my therapist and I were talking a lot about dancing.  Because I don’t.  Almost as a rule.  And on Friday I’m going out for my friend’s birthday for dinner and drinking and dancing.

 

I have this irrational fear (which if you ask me is not so irrational) that people are very reluctant accept a “No” when they’re trying to get you to dance.  Which led my therapist to say the following:

 

“You don’t have to be a dancer.  It’s your life; you don’t have to do anything you don’t want to do.  It’s like if somebody comes up to you and says, ‘Hey, we’re going to the back alley to do some crack, you wanna come?’ you can just say, ‘No, I don’t do that.’  You don’t have to dance.”

 

Hear that, everybody?  Dancing = crack.  It’s like Footloose all over again.  I wish somebody had told me sooner.  Like before I agreed to go out dancing (or not dancing) on Friday.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Raised on Red Ribbon Week

  1. Oh my god, this is me. I hate dancing and straight up refuse to do it, so I stand around clearly not having fun, but I would be having less fun if I was dancing. Other people go through the “not dancing, not having fun…therefore dancing would make her have fun!” reasoning, and I think that’s why they’re so persistent. Some guy even made me go through a cost-benefit analysis of me dancing with him the last time I went out. (Pro tip: don’t tell people the cost is your dignity; it’s mean.)

    Anyway, good luck.

  2. Pingback: Raised on Red Ribbon Week | Yarn Around My World

  3. Love this blog!!! Your therapist is right it is your life to live as you choose……I love to dance, when I’m by myself and no one else (except the dogs) is looking. Then I’m beautiful, graceful and the epitome of a dancing goddess. BUT I never dance in public or go out dancing.

Leave a Reply

